Hand on the Plow

This is a repost of a piece I wrote in 2020 at the onset of the Covid pandemic when we were unsure of what it was, how bad it was, and when it would end. I referenced the advice of a coworker from my younger days and how her words have stayed with me. I just found out she passed away and was reminded again of her and her words of encouragement.

Edmonia R. Wade 1940-1923

Back in the 1980s she and I spent many days over several years together at our retail job. When I left the position we said we’d always stay in touch. We didn’t. That’s just how it works. Although I never saw her again I thought of her often, laughed remembering her sense of humor, and never forgot her advice.

Hand on the Plow 

I watched the morning news but turned away as hopelessness washed over me while they reported infection rates and death tolls. Isolation was helping to end this nightmare, so they said, but for many of us it seemed an exercise in futility. When a reporter stressed the importance of perseverance even when we doubted, an old memory crossed my mind of a time when I was unsure of my own next steps.

“Nope.” Ms. Wade shook her head. “Here’s what you’re going to do.” She put her arm around my shoulder. “Keep your hand on the plow and hold on.”

I understood the metaphor. Don’t dismay, was her message. I should simply continue doing what I’d been doing.

It was the 1980s and I was a twenty-something kid working a part-time retail job. Ms. Wade was an older African-American woman who had worked there full-time for a number of years. She showed me around, trained me, and a couple weeks into the job was already my mentor and friend.

New in my position, one day I rang up a sale incorrectly. Technology not being then what it is today, that wasn’t hard to do. My mistake, which was realized later, cost the store less than twenty dollars but that was serious stuff. For an entire tense week I came to work expecting to be fired. During that time, Ms. Wade listened to my worries but smiled and encouraged me to keep my chin up and just keep doing what I was doing. I thought maybe I should quit.

“You can’t quit when things seem hopeless. That’s exactly when you don’t quit.” Ms. Wade looked at me and put her hand on her hip. “Just hold on, I told you. Keep your hand on the plow and hold on.”

I continued whining, bothered by the embarrassing thought of having to explain to everyone why I’d been fired. Not to mention I’d have to find another job. The situation seemed gloomy and I told her so. Ms. Wade patiently repeated that I should keep going even through confusion and fear. It was ok that the outcome wasn’t known. The point was to push on and take it day by day. So that’s what I did.

A few days later I was informed, unceremoniously, that personnel chalked up my mistake to inexperience and a learning curve. Because I’d continued working and demonstrated determination, they let it go. Wow! Just as Ms. Wade said, the best thing to do was carry on in spite of overwhelming bouts of apprehension.

What a valuable lesson that good woman taught me.

I turned back to the morning news. More reports of infections and deaths. So much uncertainty. When will this end? What can any of us do? I’m not the only person experiencing moments of confusion and worry. The entire world is swallowed up by these feelings as we wait for a resolution.

For now, our responsibilities are to follow advice and keep at it even during moments of doubt. Especially during moments of doubt. A solution will eventually come. In the meantime I can’t offer an answer to this mess, but thanks to Ms. Wade I can offer a bit of advice.

Keep your hand on the plow and hold on.

Stuart M. Perkins

82 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

82 responses to “Hand on the Plow

  1. I love your Edmonia R. Wade and her sage advice.

  2. lt117

    Thank you for sharing! I would have liked this Ms. Edmonia Wade.

  3. Her advice rings true. I think young people these days give up too easily – whether it is their work or even their relationships – and do not realise that perseverance often takes us through the worst of times so that we can enjoy the best of them too.

  4. atennismom

    Loved your story. This story can even be applied to our world today. “Keep your hand on the plow and hold on”!

  5. Good story. Good advice, too.

  6. Pingback: On not giving up . . . – Blithe Spirit

  7. Thank you for bringing Mrs. Wade to us, Stuart. Wisdom that works and I love that you were thinking of her…remembering Edmonia’s gifts to you. Hugs! 🥰

  8. shann273

    Stu! I needed this so badly today! Great timing and lovely story. I wish I knew her, too!

  9. Garrie Madison Stoutimore

    Such a great lesson. I love your posts, Stuart. Here’s one of mine along the same line. Hope you enjoy it. https://gstoutimore.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/what-i-learned-from-being-a-vista-a-k-a-figure-it-out/.

    garrie

  10. Love her. I shall remember her now as well. Hand on the plough is a good metaphor. Onward and upwards. Nice share to remember is total hold on the world. Now we have Israel and Hamas, a world wide effect, just like divide. It cause us to feel bereft, fraught, overwhelmed and just a little bit frightened. This too shall pass. God has got this.

  11. Scott

    What a nice tribute to a wonderful mentor and friend. How often have we unwittingly had angels disguised as coworkers, convenience store clerks, and friendly strangers to help guide and encourage us along the way of life?!

  12. Thank you for sharing this!

  13. masterkeyinterface

    Such a great story Stuart. Thanks for it.
    Keep plowing, that’s the start of fruit-bearing!

  14. Edmonia R. Wade, 1940-2023
    May the kind lady rest in peace.
    This senior worker’s advice still rings true today. In moments of uncertainty, the best option is to stay calm and focus on the moment.
    The pandemic is officially over, yet the virus is still lingering. I live in the province where Covid was first detected and eventually raged across the globe. We did remote school for almost half a year from the end of January 2020 until June. In the following couple of years, lockdowns and remote school happened again and again. It was a dark time. Looking back, it was the same attitude that helped us navigate through the dark tunnel: Stay calm, and focus on the moment.
    It is a long time since you last posted. Thanks for sharing, Stuart.

  15. Thanks for passing on the great advice and story. Rest in peace Ms. Wade. How great that you had such a supportive co-worker/mentor. Take care!

  16. Stuart, thanks for reposting this story. It’s an essential message for all life situations!

  17. Such good advice! And you wrote about it in a beautiful essay!

  18. Good reminder, especially in our political climate.

  19. Sorry for the loss of your former colleague. She sounded like a wonderful and wise mentor. Good advise, especially even more poignant this day and age.

  20. Beautiful way to honor her memory. Now she will live on in all who read her sage advice her and keep it with them, like me.

  21. Thank you for sharing her attitude and her wisdom, for your wisdom to follow wise advice and for sharing this wisdom now. 💖✨

  22. Stuart,
    Great post as usual. Your co-worker and mentor’s advice reminds me of a quote from Dr. Norman Vincent Peale: “It’s always too soon to quit”.
    In today’s culture the folks “in the name of progress” are seeking to put the past behind us and leave it there, so as to make a future devoid of our failures. But, in doing so, has thrown the baby out with the bath water. For in forging forward on this road of progress we have found we have left behind the best of who we are.
    The loss of your mentor is a loss of wisdom. The experienced aged are the greatest benefit to a lasting and stable society. It is sad that the ego in many obstruct that wisdom from taking hold. For that is why we are where we are today; an oft time untrusting, angry and joyless people fenced in by fear.
    You were fortunate to have such a co-worker of humility. She has left you with a valuable lesson and virtue that many of the young lack. A true understanding of what it means to be free.
    -Alan

  23. Tamara Kulish from https://tamarakulish.com/

    Just keep going! This is great advice, for often we despair that something is far worse than it actually is. Since we most likely haven’t been through that experience before, we have no frame of reference to tell how bad it is, or what the possible outcome might be. Sometimes simply sticking around is far more helpful than fleeing!

  24. Hi Stuart! That is kind and sound advice. It does no good to, as a character in my book says, ‘fold in yourself’. I once had a similar friend years ago when I worked in an ego driven, tech-eat-tech medical practice. After listening to me bemoan their treatment of me day in and day out and being empathetic, she finally told me, “Girl, do not let them steal your joy.” It was then that I stopped being a victim and took control of my reactions to their nonsense. Keep your hand on the plow, keep moving forward and don’t let anyone steal your joy. Deborah was wiser than she likely knew.

  25. We’d have a lot more than 6% of marriages lasting 50+ years if this sage advice was heeded!!

  26. We all need an Edmonia R. Wade in our lives. Thank you for sharing her. ❤️

  27. What a great story and wise piece of advice.

  28. Love this, Stuart! Such great advice for any number of situations! RIP Ms. Wade! ❤

  29. Wisdom of elders. Great post. 💛🌻

  30. AnnaR

    What a great and encouraging story…so true ….keep on keeping on!

  31. I love this so much!! I look forward to more of your stories! 🙂

  32. Pingback: Episode 48: Staying Steady with Stuart Perkins – The Heart of the Matter

    • I clicked the “like” button only because there is no “love” button to click! Talking with Wynne and Vicki is always like sitting with old friends around the table where ideas and questions flow. Casual, grounded fun. Thank you both again for allowing me in to your podcast world!

  33. Pingback: Podcast Friday! Holiday Wisdom 🌟 – Victoria Ponders

  34. That is such a sweet story to share and may she rest in peace. The COVID pandemic was hard on everyone for sure. Sometimes I wish it had never happened since so many plans have changed. Many people died because of this virus. I’m just glad things are starting to return to normal slowly.

  35. Fine story, well-said. We need more people like her.

    Thank you for liking my poem!

  36. Great story , hold on goes a long way with me .

Leave a comment