A Little Chicken Soup…

I began blogging a little over two years ago thanks to the encouragement of two close friends. I didn’t expect it to morph into such an enjoyable adventure!

Coming from a large family and a long line of storytellers I was born pre-loaded with the urge to regale anyone who would listen with anecdotes about family, friends, and everyday observations. So, encouraged by those two close friends, I hesitantly put the first post out there for the entire world to see. Then held my breath…

No need for nerves. Kind comments, constructive criticisms, and many a simple “thanks for that” poured in after the very first post. Fun interaction with other bloggers has been an unexpected bonus.

We write it because we want someone to read it and blogging provides a great platform for bouncing thoughts and stories off of others. I appreciate comments from readers and have been flattered many times by those who’ve asked whether I’ve ever been published.

In response, I’m now excited to announce that a story of mine will appear in Chicken Soup for the Soul: Volunteering and Giving Back due out later this month!

I’m proud of the accomplishment and happy that the story includes and is based on a quote from my grandmother. Nannie was an extremely positive influence on me and her entire extended family. She had a calm way of teaching by example and she’d be proud, though modesty would prevent her showing it, to see that I learned one of her valuable lessons and tried to pass it on.

Stuart M. Perkins

277 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

277 responses to “A Little Chicken Soup…

  1. Oana Fagaras

    Hey
    I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award, check it out here:
    https://asolasconb.wordpress.com/2015/08/24/liebster-award/

  2. Congratulations! What a great accomplishment.

  3. Wow! I’m a story teller too and started this blog a few months ago just so I had a platform to share my stories and observations. You have given me hope and encouragement to keep blogging! Looking forward to following you!! And reading your posts.

  4. So cool. Blogging is a great way to let it out, huh? I’ve been writing all my life, but this is a new thing for me. Congrats on the Chicken Soup thing.

  5. I, too, had a Chicken Soup story published. It is in Chicken Soup for the Veteran’s Soul from back in 2000. It is called “I Have the Coffee On” and it’s about the North Platte Canteen during WWII. I am working on my first novel now, having been a short story writer, with pieces in nursing journals and anthologies for the most part. I did a few magazine articles, too. But now I am working on an urban fantasy, which is totally new for me since I have done mostly nonfiction and memoir up until now. What a learning curve! Congratulations on your Chicken Soup story. I wish you well on your journey.

  6. Congrats and well done! Keep on writing!

  7. I have to admit, I get nervous about “putting myself out there” when it comes to blogging. I gave it up after accidentally offending a few people and now I’m trying to get back at it. I did enjoy it, but it can be sort of nerve-racking at times to put your thoughts in a place where anyone can read them! Glad to hear you have had such a positive experience.

  8. Whoa…! It’s amazing to see the perseverance with which you kept writing and consequently are now publishing too. Would love to read your Chicken Soup story… 🙂

  9. Congratulations!! What a great feeling for you, and validation for the hard work of writing. My first story for Guideposts was accepted earlier this year, and I was very thankful for the experience.

  10. That’s awesome news! Good for you. It’s awesome to be included in a project like that!

  11. Awesome! Nannie did a great job!

  12. It is so encouraging to read a little about your journey Stuart. Wonderful that your grandmother’s quote can now inspire a story which can speak to the hearts of many people. Congratulations! I’m excited to follow your blog.

  13. That’s really exciting! congratulations:)

  14. Congratulations. That’s Wonderful 🙂 I wish you Infinite Success in all your endeavours.

  15. Thank you for following my blog: lorettaschoen.com/underhiswings. I love how you became an on line storyteller. I look forward to hearing more of your stories.

  16. Thank you for visiting and “liking” my post about the Studebaker Hawks!

  17. Congratulations on the story in Chicken Soup. A very good friend of mine has a story in the same book. I literally just ordered it last night and can’t wait to read it. Now I “know” two people with a story in there 🙂

  18. Congratulations on the story in Chicken Soup. You are truly a fun read.

  19. Great blog, Stuart! I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts and I look forward to reading more. Thanks for following my blog so I could connect with you. Keep up the great writing. I’ve especially enjoyed reading your Nannie stories. 🙂

  20. Lorraine

    I’ve had several blogs over the years… Book Blogs, Recipe Blogs, My Artwork Blogs, Personal Blogs. I keep deleting the personal ones..I think I have a story to tell….

  21. skditta

    Little I read, have enjoyed. Uncluttered, simple, pleasing. Thank you!

  22. Stuart thanks for reading my blog. Now I have found you. Grandmothers are precious to children.I only had one alive for 6 years but her gentleness is what stays with me.
    Congratulations on your radio interview too. Good for you. I have a monthly letter if you’d like it. Let me know
    Jane
    at wordpress too.

  23. I love “Chicken Soup” books 🙂 Congrats!

  24. Congratulations. That is a huge accomplishment! You must feel exhilarated. Did they approach you or you them?

  25. You’re on friend! Keep on

  26. I loved your writings, this is heart warming ❤

  27. Congratulations! I can’t wait to read it. How did they discover your writing? I love hearing that someone has found their voice and others enjoy hearing it!

  28. skditta

    There is a light in your words. Thank you for sharing. ☺

Leave a Reply

